Carolina Auto Insurance

Carolina auto insurance requirements vary from North to South Carolina.  If you are intending to move to either of the Carolinas knowing the requirements for each state is important.  As a resident of either state you will have to meet those requirements and it needs to be clear that each state has different regulations.

South Carolina law mandates that you have at least the minimum coverage for both liability and uninsured motorist.  The minimum liability coverage is $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person, $50,000 total for bodily injury or death per accident and $25,000 for property damage.  The uninsured motorist requirements are the same minimums as liability.  A special note is South Carolina a registered uninsured motorist who is at fault in an accident is required to pay out of pocket medical expenses and damage therefore uninsured motorist insurance does not cover accidents with registered uninsured drivers.

Again, as Carolina auto insurance varies from the two states, North Carolina has different coverage requirements than South Carolina.   The requirement in North Carolina is liability only with $30,000 bodily injury, $60,000 total bodily injury per accident and $25,000 for property damage.

While Carolina auto insurance varies in coverage requirements from the North and the South, both states have basic methods of determining premiums as this is generally and a nationwide system standard.  Your rates will be determined based on your driving record, accidents, moving violations, DUIs and any accidents you’ve had.  Other premium factors are age, occupation, gender, marital status, miles driven, credit score and the type of car you are driving.

The type of car being driven plays a large role in how the premiums are calculated.  New cars obviously will have higher premiums but insurance companies also look at what are “high theft” cars like Toyota Camrys.  Marital status needs to be known because married women have fewer accidents therefore pay lower premiums.

Any lending institution will require not only the minimum coverage but also full coverage.  Full coverage is required to protect the financed asset in this case the auto.  This means the auto has to stay in a condition in which the lending institution can resell the asset if need be.

Car insurance can be confusing and regulations vary from state to state.  Carolina auto insurance has to be broken down into the two individual states as South Carolina requires liability and uninsured motorist while North Carolina only requires liability.